Coverart for item
The Resource Southern Cross the Dog

Southern Cross the Dog

Label
Southern Cross the Dog
Title
Southern Cross the Dog
Creator
Subject
Summary
In the tradition of Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O'Connor, Bill Cheng's Southern Cross the Dog is an epic literary debut in which the bonds between three childhood friends are upended by the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927. In its aftermath, one young man must choose between the lure of the future and the claims of the past. Having lost virtually everything in the fearsome storm—home, family, first love—Robert Chatham embarks on an odyssey that takes him through the deep South, from the desperation of a refugee camp to the fiery and raucous brothel Hotel Beau-Miel and into the Mississippi hinterland, where he joins a crew hired to clear the swamp and build a dam.Along his journey he encounters piano-playing hustlers, ne'er-do-well Klansmen, well-intentioned whores, and a family of fur trappers, the L'Etangs, whose very existence is threatened by the swamp-clearing around them. The L'Etang brothers are fierce and wild but there is something soft about their cousin Frankie, possibly the only woman capable of penetrating Robert's darkest places and overturning his conviction that he's marked by the devil.Teeming with language that renders both the savage beauty and complex humanity of our shared past, Southern Cross the Dog is a tour de force that heralds the arrival of a major new voice in fiction
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Cheng, Bill
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Literature
  • Historical Fiction
  • African American Fiction
  • Fiction
Label
Southern Cross the Dog
Instantiates
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f8e8f154-c1fd-4979-9f8a-62460948dd93
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062225030
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk
Label
Southern Cross the Dog
Publication
Control code
OVERDRIVE:f8e8f154-c1fd-4979-9f8a-62460948dd93
Dimensions
4 3/4 in. or 12 cm.
Form of item
electronic
http://library.link/vocab/inputERC
True
Isbn
9780062225030
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Specific material designation
optical disk

Library Locations

  • Poy Sippi LibraryBorrow it
    Poy Sippi Library W2251 Commercial St, Poy Sippi, WI, 54967, US
    44.1364106 -88.9950661
Processing Feedback ...